pages bg right


Texas Motorcycle Laws

The state of Texas has their laws regarding wearing motorcycle helmets and other road laws. It is vital to follow these motorcycle laws and statutes so as to avoid accidents and other road dangers and keep you out of legal troubles. There are number of laws and statutes that are listed, but knowing the key fundamentals can protect you from any problems with the authorities. The law also differs on whether you are riding your motorcycle on-road or off-road, because both of these conditions still require you to follow specified rules. When operating a motorcycle on a Texas public road, you are required to wear your helmet (except for those who are over 21 years old and have completed their Department-approved Motorcycle Operating Training Course or those who can present proof of medical insurance coverage not less than $10,000). Eye protect is also required, as well as the use of daytime headlights. As for passengers, those who are 5 years and younger are not allowed to ride the motorcycle unless they are in a sidecar; passengers should have their seat although footrests are not necessary. The state of Texas does not allow lane splitting, with riding two abreast not specifically addressed in the statutes. For those who operate their motorcycles off-road, the rules may differ from that of riding on public roads. Some of these differences are; headlights and taillights should only be used after sunset, and eye protection is also required. Those who ride off-road has not age limit, except for 14 years and younger who requires adult supervision. Motorcycle license is also not necessary, but helmets are still required. Despite Texas laws that state does not require riders to wear helmets, it is still best to wear them. According to Williams Kherkher, the chances of getting serious physical injury, such as head trauma and brain and spinal...
Read More of Texas Motorcycle Laws